Licences & Competition Format EuroMillions Basketball League Season 2019-2020
Friday 12th April 2019

The Pro Basketball League Licence Commission decided on the 2019-2020 licence applications and presents the new 2019-2020 competition format. 

An A-licence was assigned to the following clubs: Basic-Fit Brussels, Filou Oostende, Belfius Mons-Hainaut, Crelan Okapi Aalstar, Hubo Limburg United, Kangoeroes Basket Mechelen, Proximus Spirou and Telenet Giants Antwerp

B-licence was assigned to VOO Liège Basket & Stella Artois Leuven Bears. The B-licence holder will not be allowed to participate in any European Competitions during the 2019-2020 season.

These licence applications imply that we can now also confirm the 2019-2020 competition format. The regular season will be played in two rounds.

Starting September 14 up and until November 23 the first round will be played in two groups. These will be determined by the final standings at the end of the 2018-2019 regular season. 

Teams 1-3-5-7-9 of the current season will face other in group A. Meanwhile teams 2-4-6-8-10 will play in group B. During this first round each team will play every other team within their group once at home and once away.

After the national team break (November 25 up and until December 3) there will be a second round played from December 7, 2019 up and until May 8, 2020. During this second round all PBL-teams will face each other once at home and once away. 

Points from the first round will count at the start of the second round. The 2019-2020 competition calendar will be published at the end of the 2018-2019 regular season. The play offs format will be decided on during the General Assembly in September 2019. 



Back to all news